Bah Humbug and the Gingerbread train

I have been in a very “Bah Humbug” kind of mood there is no reason at all for this rotten mood and it is totally unlike me really but I was finding it so hard to get into the festive spirit. So I decided to pull my socks up and get into it and asked Caitlin did she want to make a little Christmas house. I have had one of these Doodlebug houses hanging around for the past year and this was the perfect time to make it up.

I dragged out the most colourful of my Christmas papers and the glitter and we went to town. Caitlin picked out all the papers and flocked all the windows and edges.


It is so sweet and has taken up residence on the dresser for now which is the home for all Christmas makes.
Caitlin has been my main reason for trying to get out of the funk I have been in – she is BIG into Christmas and I have to pull it together for her sake and who could resist this face ?

She was also very excited as she got to do Ruby walking duties again this weekend, we took a trip down to the lake and get some much needed fresh air on Sunday.


The weather held of just about long enough, the rain only hit as we walked home but Ruby was an angel and Becca even came with us.


When we got home it was still quite early so Caitlin and I decided to have a go at making a gingerbread Christmas train we had picked up.

We have never attempted one of these before but it was very tasty fun and was quite cute when Cait had finished it – okay it won’t win any beauty awards but for a first attempt I think it is a winner.


I got back to making pages for the countdown ( while watching x factor) and these are the pages before they are printed – numbers and embellishments will be added to make them pretty.
So this is page 3

And this one is page 4 about my planner, page 5 will have the little house , page six will be about the gingerbread train and today will be about our rocky road recipe – which we have spent the afternoon making – I still have chocolate all over me as I type !!

I also got back to making cards – I like this one it is different to all the others I have made and it has glitter, who doesn’t like glitter ?!?


I threw together a couple more – I have 2 more to make and then I am done I think, it takes a awhile and every year I think no more but truth is I love making them and it is nice to send something you put some effort into.


All the cards are placed onto the dresser until they are signed and placed in envelopes and you can see the dresser is getting full at this stage – it is actually worse this this morning as I made 3 more cards.

I was making cards this morning as Mam and Dad, Jen and Rachel all arrived back from the UK and their visit to Nana – they were all looking the worse for wear as it was a rough trip but it was lovely to see them and I was a lucky girl as Nana sent me a gorgeous jumper – thanks Nan xx


Also it took my mind of the fact that Becca was off again up the North she has gone to represent the school again – the house is strangely quite without her and I know she will be grand and have a brilliant time, doesn’t stop me worrying though.
Goodness I miss that girl !!

One thought on “Bah Humbug and the Gingerbread train

Leave a Reply

