How to Bake your own Bread for Beginners ( like me !)

Baking Bread on What we Eat Wednesday

 Yes I bake Bread but it wasn’t always a success in the past. Soda Bread I could manage but anything involving yeast was a huge flop.
It has taken a while to find a recipe that works for me and finally I have found one thanks to Lucy over at Attic 24. I love Lucy, I stalk her blog in a totally friendly way and I wish I had half her talent.

Anyway she told us all about this “artisan” bread recipe she had come across and you can bet your booty I scampered across to the recipe to check it out and have a go.
I mean it is “no Knead” bread and simple ingredients, hey people we might have a fighting chance of producing something nice here.
The Original recipe is Here

INGREDIENTS 

3 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 3/4 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon Instant or Rapid-rise yeast
1 1/2 cups water

I started with the yeast, it seemed like a good idea, and the recipe suggested it. I activated my yeast first before putting it in with the flour, as it was a dry yeast, but the recipe says put it right in with the flour.
 I say go with what you feel comfortable with, I activated in 1/4 cup warm water and reduced the water added to the flour to 1 1/4 cups.

Next you put the dry ingredients in a bowl, or if you are lazy like me, pop it in the mixer with a dough hook on.
Mix in the water and yeast until it is a gloopy mess – yes it is meant to look like this.

Leave in a covered bowl to rise overnight or at least 12 hours. I usually do it the evening before and leave on the counter until morning when I cook it.

Put the oven on to 230 degrees C – it has to be hot and put in the the bowl you are cooking it in, they suggest a cast iron casserole dish, I went high tech with Pyrex and yes it worked ,as long as it is oven proof, has a lid and is big enough you are good to go.

While the oven is heating the fun begins, take the dough out of the bowl, it is still sticky I am not going to lie and you will need a floured piece of baking parchment to plop it on and you will get messy people. We are not kneading it remember, I am not sure you could knead this sticky mess !!

Gently shape it into a loaf shape or until it resembles something like a loaf , and cover and leave to rise while your oven is heating.

Take you hot bowl out “CAREFULLY” and place in your dough and bake in the oven with the lid on for 30 minutes , take the lid off and cook for a further 15 minutes, and marvel at the wondrous smell of bread in your kitchen.

This is the finished loaf – isn’t it just gorgeous looking and it tastes as good as it looks.

Serve with home-made soup or with jam and you will win so many brownie points with your family and friends. Apparently you can use different flavours in you bread , like Rosemary and garlic and lemon or Cranberry, Almond and orange, I haven’t tried this yet but I will be, you can count on it .

Do you make Bread ? Or have you been to scared of the yeast too ? I love to chat so feel free to leave a comment, I would love to hear from you

Super Moms loved this post!     
11 thoughts on “How to Bake your own Bread for Beginners ( like me !)

  1. Renee Cheatham says:

    I was always scared to make bread until I went to culinary school. My parents had a bread-maker (still have, actually) but it just takes up room inside their cabinet for the most part. I love making my own breads, and pizza dough especially!

    Like

  2. Lisa | A Merry Mom says:

    This looks so good and sounds easy enough! I'm also a bread beginner. I've had some less-than-stellar results so far, but your post is helping to convince me to try again. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Starla J. says:

    Oh yum! I love fresh homemade bread! It always goes so quickly. Everyone of us will devour 2 loaves in a day or two easy. Even my kiddos. Thank you for sharing. I'm pinning this one!

    Like

  4. Erlene A says:

    I love making bread and make some type of yeast dough on a regular basis. In fact, I'm making pizza dough right now. I'm definitely going to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing on Merry Monday. Pinned & Shared.

    Like

Leave a Reply

