Fantastic Fish Pie – What we eat Wednesday

I was going to share my daughters favourite Turkey Burgers with you but I do you think I could find turkey mince anywhere this week or even a bit of turkey to mince? Nope, turkeys are thin on the ground in Cavan it seems. So instead I will share with you my ever faithful and much loved Fantastic Fish Pie.

This is adapted from an old Jamie Oliver recipe to suit my family and my love for things low fat.

Fantastic Fish Pie

Ingredients  : 

5/6  potatoes pealed and diced –  We use Roosters
1lb of Smoked Coley ( you can use a plain white fish if you prefer )  diced
2 handfuls of spinach ( optional)
1 onion – diced small
2 Carrots – diced small
Olive oil
Carton of Low fat crème fraiche
2/3 handfuls of low fat Grated cheddar
approx 1/2 pint of low fat milk

The How too

1.Pre- heat the oven to 200 degrees C/ 450 F

2. Put the potatoes in a pot of boiling seasoned water and boil until cooked – steam the spinach on a colander on top for the last five minutes.

3. In a separate pot put the chopped fish and the milk and salt and pepper and cook gently for 10- 15 minutes.

4. Fry the onions and carrots in a little oil in a pan for about 5-10 minutes then add the crème fraiche and a little of the milk from the fish to loosen it up add the cooked fish and the cheese. Add the spinach and place in a oven proof dish.

5. Drain the Potatoes and mash with either milk or butter if you are feeling frivolous I put a handful of the cheese in here too. Spread on top of the fish you can pipe it if serving it for a dinner party but my lot like this homely and hearty.
Cook in the oven until the potatoes are golden.

Serve with Green Veggies or kids like it with Baked Bean.

Next week will be home-made burgers I promise – even if I have to catch the turkey myself 🙂 

 Printable recipe HERE

5 thoughts on “Fantastic Fish Pie – What we eat Wednesday

  1. Renee Cheatham says:

    Wow, it's like Sheppard's Pie but with fish! Perfect for the pesky pescatarians in my life. We will have to try this sometime soon. Thank you for sharing on Farmer's Market Friday this week (did you know that I have a fish vendor at my market on Saturdays?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

