Making Pillows Pretty with Ribbons and Buttons – Getting crafty at the weekend

I brought this gorgeous bedding for my daughter in a sale but there was something odd about the pillow cases when we opened it – they were huge nearly twice the size of a normal pillow which was a pain as they wouldn’t stay on. So I resized them to normal pillow size but this meant the opening wasn’t quite right. This is when I decided I could make a feature of the closure using buttons and my gorgeous ribbon from Fantastic Ribbons.You could do this to any pillow to make it a Pretty Pillow.

  1. First pick your buttons and your ribbon to match your pillow I went with colours in the pillow but rainbow colour would be fun for a plain pillow.

2. Measure your button – mine are 1 inches and then make your ribbon 3 times the size so my ribbon is 3 inches.

3. Fold your ribbons and overlap them slightly at the bottom and pin. I place my ribbons approx 3 inches apart which made 5 ribbon loops in total to each pillow case.

4. Sew your ribbons on – I hand sew because I haven’t a machine at the moment but if you have a machine go for it. Put your button in place and sew on.
 Quick and easy fix to pretty up your pillows.

My daughter loves them and her pillowcases now fit properly and her pillows don’t escape any more.

So are you getting crafty this weekend ? If not have a lovely weekend 🙂

3 thoughts on “Making Pillows Pretty with Ribbons and Buttons – Getting crafty at the weekend

Leave a Reply

