Our Favourite Beef Dopiaza

 

Beef Dopiaza

How on earth is this a summer recipe  ? I hear you ask, well it is dumped in the slow cooker, so no oven heating up the kitchen. Trust me on a hot summer’s day that really helps and you have this recipe now because I cooked it last week and put it up on my personal Facebook page and was asked for the recipe a few times.
Dopiaza is actually Indian for “Twice Onions” so as you can imagine there is a lot of onion in this recipe.

Ingredients

  • 2 lb Preferred Meat ( I have used Beef, Lamb and chicken)
  • 3 tsps coriander seeds
  • 2 tsps cumin seeds
  • 2/3 cardamom pods
  • 2 or 3 large onions chopped fine
  • 3 tbsps vegetable/ sunflower cooking oil
  • 2 tsps garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 2 tbsp garlic paste
  • 2 tbsp ginger paste
  • 2 large tomatoes chopped fine or a tin of chopped tomatoes
  • One large tub Natural Yoghurt
  • Three handfuls of Spinach – optional 
  • Mushrooms – Optional
  • Salt to taste

Now If you want to take the easier route – you can by Doipaza spices already ground and roasted. Trust me this saves a lot of time and even Aldi does a gorgeous version. As far as I am concerned anything that makes life a little easier is good.

The How To

1. First of all you need to roast the whole spices, and to do this place them in a small frying pan or saucepan over a medium heat and stir and toss them around for 1-2 minutes, or until they begin to look toasted and start to jump in the pan. Now transfer them to a pestle and mortar and crush them to a powder.

2. Then throw the onion and meat into that pan with a little oil and cook until the meat is brown and the onions soft and golden.

3. Then add the garlic paste and ginger paste, gram masala, turmeric, roasted spices, chopped tomatoes and mushrooms.

4. Stir in the natural yoghurt and I use frozen spinach at this point if I am adding spinach and slow cooking. Dump the whole lot into the slow cooker on low for 4-5 hours or high for 1-2 hours. The smell is killer !!

Don’t have a slow cooker you can put it in a casserole dish on a low simmer for 1/2 hours.

5. If you use fresh spinach add half an hour before the end but as I said it is optional because my love lot spinach.

I serve it with wholemeal Rice and Naan bread

I hope you enjoy it 🙂 I know the man in my life does and thank you to Matt and Ross who are the reason the Dopiaza went up this week.

Have you signed up for the email ? I am trying to make it better and you can catch up if you miss anything. Also do you like your slow cooker in summer ? 

 

3 thoughts on “Our Favourite Beef Dopiaza

Leave a Reply

