July Garden Updates

What we have been up to in the Garden – July

Well time is flying and July is already here – Happy July 4th all my American friends. 
Funnily the garden is taking up so much time that posting is getting later and later. I really must try and balance things better, but our garden is starting to look really good.
Here are a few things you should be doing in your vegetable garden in July 
  •  Train Cucumbers stems upwards instead of trailing over the ground, to make the most of the space available. Simply tie in their long stems to vertical wires or a wigwam of poles. 

 

  • Pinch out tomato side shoots each week. Cut off any leaves growing below the lowest ripening fruit trusses to improve air circulation and prevent diseases. Which I have been doing regularly, boy can those side shoots grow quick. 
  •  Boost your tomato crop by regularly feeding them with dilute tomato fertiliser once a week. If leaves look pale and yellow feed more regularly.  I have been using our home-made rabbit manure fertilizer.
  •   Apply a good organic fertiliser once fruits start to form on peppers, cucumber and courgettes. You can use this on sunflowers too.

  • Pepper Plants will benefit from being potted on into progressively larger pots. This is a plant I saved from Aldi last week. I always find wilting plants and wonder if they can be saved. This one was on a shelf with many that were beyond help but this one seems to have taken well to the TLC I have given it and I hope to be picking peppers soon. 
  • My Pepper other is now in a big pot and flowering – if you haven’t a big pot to put yours in  check out my post on how to make your own – Here.
  • Harvest garlic when the tops start to bend over and yellow. Mine are nearly there, I am very excited as this is my first year trying to grow them.
  • Pick, dry and freeze herbs for using later in the year or you can add them to butter and freeze and if you have mint you can add to ice cubes to pop in your Mojitos.
  •  Peg down runners on your strawberry plants  to create more plants for next year. If you don’t need more plants simply remove the strawberry runners completely. My strawberries are coming to the end I still have crops but they are what I like to call the “ugly ones ” they are less pretty than the first batch but just as tasty. I use them in smoothies like this one I made for breakfast during the week.

Healthy Breakfast Smoothie  

Ingredients 

A handful of strawberries
1 ripe Banana
A small handful of blueberries
A small handful of baby leaf spinach
One pot of Greek Yoghurt
Too cups of low fat milk
2 dessert spoons of Chai seeds which are optional

Chop up your strawberries, banana, and spinach leaves – throw them with the rest of the ingredients to the blender and mix. Drink you should have enough for two so either save in the fridge for late or give the other to someone else. It was gorgeous by the way. 

And I leave you with this tip – Wear gardening gloves !! It turns out I am allergic to the fuzz on my tomato plants, unfortunately I found this out while picking side shoots .Luckily anti-histamines did the trick and my poor hand that was red and so itchy, returned to normal. 

 So what are you up to in your gardens in this July ? Do you wear gloves – let me know I love a chat.

Leave a Reply

