Menu Planning Monday

Well it is Monday again and a Bank holiday in Ireland as it is St Patrick’s day tomorrow so here is my Menu Planning Monday Menu for this week and if you wish to learn more about Menu planning feel free to read my post about it HERE and also pop into I’m an Organizing Junkie where they have a whole list of Menu’s on a Monday for you to look at.

I know I am a bit late – had a bit of a Blog issue which sent me into a mini panic when I went looking for it. it was gone ekkk . Terrifying for a Blogger I can tell you luckily it was a minor blip and all was back to normal this evening. As it is we have had the first thing on our Menu very nice it was too.

MONDAY

Spaghetti Bolognese – it is an old family favourite mostly I make it from scratch but occasionally I will cheat if I am short on time but I do hate the amount of sugar in some sauces, luckily today I had plenty of time made it from scratch and it was yummy.

TUESDAY 

 

Being Paddy’s day I have to make a traditional Irish dish and this Beef and Guinness Stew is perfect as it can be thrown in the slowcooker in the morning as cook away as your out celebrating at a Parade.

PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE

Follow it up with Chocolate Guinness Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting – this cake tastes incredible and the Guinness gives it a rich taste and uses up your left over Guinness from the first recipe 🙂

Chocolate Guinness Cake 

Ingredients

  • 250ml Guinness beer (1 cup)
  • 250g butter (1 cup + 1 tbsp)
  • 100g cup cocoa powder (2/3 cup)
  • 400g caster/superfine sugar (1¾ cups)
  • 140ml sour cream (2/3 cup)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 250g plain flour (2 cups)
  • 2½ tsp bicarbonate of soda/baking soda

THE HOW TO BIT 

  1. Preheat oven 180°C/350°F and butter and line a 23cm (9″) springform tin.
  2. Melt the butter into the Guinness in a saucepan over low heat.
  3. Whisk in the cocoa and sugar and take the saucepan off the heat.
  4. Beat the sour cream with the eggs and vanilla in a separate bowl until combined, than add to the beer mixture.
  5. Whisk in the flour and bicarb until combined.
  6. Pour the cake batter into the tin and bake for an hour. The middle of the cake may still be slightly wet when you take the cake out, but it will firm up as it cools down.
  7. Leave to cool completely in the tin as it is quite a damp cake and could collapse.

 Decorate with a cream cheese frosting for that Guinness look – there is a great recipe HERE
 
PRINTABLE RECIPE AVAILABLE HERE 

WEDNESDAY

Pork Stir-fry – I have pork and I have stir-fry vegetables it was bound to happen. Last week in my supermarket the pork was reduced to €1 a packet to good an offer to refuse so I brought a few packets and used my freezer if you check my menu you see the little blue dot beside it that means it is in the freezer. I have found by using my freezer more efficiently I need to shop less and don’t have as many UFO’s or unidentified frozen objects in there.
 

THURSDAY 

Nothing could be easier than this Chorizo Pasta with Mediterranean Veg. Last summer all these veggies were in my garden and hopefully we will get a great crop this year too as planting season is just getting started.

PRINTABLE RECIPE

FRIDAY

Home-made Fish and Chips – I will see what fish is on offer at the supermarket and if I pick up some nice ones I will make some Beer Batter and and make some chunky home made chips. Served with little tasty peas and it is heavenly.

SATURDAY

Leftovers – we already have some tonight as I thought I was cooking for four not two but luckily the Spaghetti freezes well. There is always something to grab from the freezer and it saves on food wastage .

SUNDAY 

The usual Roast dinner followed by these lovely Apple crumble Muffins – I actually have blueberries in the freezer so I might make some blueberry ones as well.

I shall also be making up a big pot of Leek and Potato Soup as Leeks were on special offer in Supervalu. I have a recipe for that  HERE.

Have a great St Patrick’s Day to all those celebrating although be warned the Irish hate it being shortened to Patty’s day with a passion !! But other than that have fun 🙂

2 thoughts on “Menu Planning Monday

  1. Benita Roberts says:

    Love these recipes and will give some of them a try. I also love weekly menu planning. Makes the trip to the market much smoother and the week run a little bit more organized! Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

