Weekend Round-up and My Easy FlapJack Recipe

I am worried about this little blog of mine,  I feel I might be losing my personal edge too much and losing what I loved about it in the first place – it used to be about telling stories and sharing pictures while sharing recipes and craft ideas.
So this week I thought I would try something different and go a bit old-school ( blog circa 2011) so during the week I took pictures of life around the place and wanted to share with you what was going on in my little part of the world.

So here is my Weekend Round up and My Easy FlapJack recipe 

Well on Monday I decided I need to tackle my health again, I have been slacking after the whole “appendix ” incident so I decide to take the Planking challenge again if you haven’t a clue what I am on about check out this link here . Planking is great for strengthening your core muscles which are weak in me after two surgeries. 
 I have also made a printable for myself and others if you want to have a go at this yourself  – you can download it  HERE
Along with this I intend on drinking more water – if you read my post about my morning routine you will know I drink Lemon Water to start me off but I have to say I tend to slack during the day when it comes to water intake. So I am planning on trying to drink 8 glasses a day – who is with me ? 
Tuesday I was out in the garden after work picking peas and beans they seem to have done really well this year. I am picking the runner beans young and chopping them into my salads – I really like them this way .
I will share how to growing runner beans with you on Sunday so tune in 🙂 
I also found out that this little blog of mine has been longlisted for the Blog Awards Ireland  I am so chuffed that it even got nominated so thank you .
Wednesday was International Dog Day so cue lots of pictures of our lovable brat of a hound -Skoda Bear.
Yes her name is Skoda – like the car – No I did not name her – Yes she is a girl and Yes she is fully grown even though she is a midget and yes I still have to Puppy Proof my garden 
To celebrate the daywith her we took her to the lake to do her favourite thing – catching sticks in the water. 

                                  //www.youtube.com/get_player

Also on Wednesday I had a meeting with the school about my youngest daughter – she missed a lot of last year with a back injury and chronic insomnia so I was unsure what would be the next step for her. The meeting went surprisingly well (to say I was worried was an understatement) and thankfully she is looking forward to going back to school. So Back to School preparations are in full swing – you can check out my post for back to school lunches HERE.
Thursday I went shopping as usual in Aldi with my neighbor – and pickup up the cutest flask to hold soup in winter. They also have hydration bottle perfect for the water challenge – check them out here 
Also in the shop was stuff for college students which reminds me so much of the day we sent this one off to college – hard to believe she now has her degree !!
Today we made 

Easy Flap Jacks 



 Ingredients 

  • 250g Porridge Oats
  • 125g Butter
  • 125g Brown Sugar
  • 2-3 tbsps Golden Syrup depends how sticky you like them 🙂 

The How to Bit 


  1. Place all ingredients in a food processor and pulse until fully mixed, but be careful not to over mix making sure the oats keep their texture.
  2. Lightly grease a baking tin with butter and spoon in all the mixture.
  3. Using the back of a spoon press into the corners so the mixture is flat and score the mixture into 12 squares.
  4. Place in the oven and bake on 180 until golden brown (about 20 minutes).
I brought one in my lunch to work 🙂 and they would make a great snack in a back to school lunch.

And I leave you this week with some of the flowers I got for my birthday – I was so luck and my house has been full of flowers this week.


Hope you had a great week – let me know if you like this slightly more personal type of blogging and if this the way forward ? 

Amber xx 

Leave a Reply

